Skip to main content

About Us

Georgia Southern University is a Carnegie Doctoral – High Research Activity Institution (R2) embracing the standards and practices recommended by the Public Impact Research report, commissioned by the Association of Public & Land-Grant Universities.

We are a public university of more than 26,000 students, studying in 141 undergraduate and graduate degree programs on our three regional campuses in Savannah, Statesboro, and Hinesville. In Fall 2019, we also opened a learning center in Wexford, Ireland.


Office of Research Leadership Team:

Dr. Christopher Curtis
Vice Provost for Research and Scholarship
ccurtis@georgiasouthern.edu

Dr. Laura Regassa
Interim Associate Provost for Research
lregassa@georgiasouthern.edu

Eleanor Haynes
Director – Research Integrity
ehaynes@georgiasouthern.edu

Carol Cox
Director – Operations and Communications
carolcox@georgiasouthern.edu

Dr. Asli Aslan
Research Faculty Fellow
aaslan@georgiasouthern.edu

Belinda Classens
Post-Award Management
bclassens@georgiasouthern.edu

Laura Wheaton
Legal Affairs
lwheaton@georgiasouthern.edu

Keith Strigaro
Communications
kstrigaro@georgiasouthern.edu


Research Foundation

The Georgia Southern University Research and Service Foundation, Inc.(GSURSF), is a nonprofit, 501(c)(3) organization that fosters and promotes the research, service, and educational missions of Georgia Southern University. The Foundation functions as a cooperative organization to the University and is subject to and complies with all policies of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia regarding cooperative organizations. The Foundation obtains grants and contractual obligations from individuals, government and public agencies, industry sponsors and private organizations to support research, instruction, and service activities at Georgia Southern.


Research Centers and Laboratories

All centers and laboratories
Camp Lawton
Renewable Energy Laboratory


Research Committees and University Partners

Research Council
Faculty Research Advisory Board
Undergraduate Research Council
Faculty Senate Research Committee
Intellectual Property Committee
Talon Cluster (High Performance Computing) and Computational Research Technical Support
University Research Librarians

Last updated: 9/15/2021